Resolution of the 1st Prize for the best doctoral thesis in photochemistry granted by the specialized photochemistry group (GRUFO) of the Spanish Royal Society of Chemistry.

The jury made up of the doctors Hugh Burrows (Univ. Coimbra), Virginie Lhiaubet-Vallet (Univ. Politécnica de Valencia) and Luis Manuel Frutos (Univ. Alcalá), has decided to award the prize for the best doctoral thesis in photochemistry to Dr. Fabio Juliá Hernández, from the Murcia University, with his thesis entitled “Photophysical and Photochemical Properties of Cyclometalated Pt(II) and Pt(IV) Complexes” and directed by Dr. Pablo González Herrero.

The criteria for awarding the prize were: (i) The relevance of the topic of the doctoral thesis in the development and advancement of photochemistry. (ii) The quality and number of publications in scientific journals and patents. (iii) Participation in national and international congresses. (iv) Scientific dissemination activities. (v) Other aspects to be considered by the evaluation committee.

The jury wanted to highlight the high quality of the theses presented, also wishing to express their congratulations to all the candidates to the award for the high quality of the papers they presented.

The award ceremony will take place in September 2018 during the celebration of the 6th Iberian Photochemical Conference in Aveiro, Portugal.

In Alcalá de Henares, on June 21, 2017

Luis Manuel Frutos