Resolution of the IV Price for the best doctoral thesis in photochemistry

The jury composed of doctors Dario Bassani (University of Bordeaux), Ezequiel Pérez-Inestrosa (University of Malaga) and Luis Manuel Frutos (University of Alcalá), has decided to award the IV Prize for the Best Doctoral Thesis in Photochemistry ex aequo to the doctors:

Dr. Soranyel González Carrero, from the University of Valencia, Institute of Molecular Science (ICMoL), with her thesis entitled “Organic-inorganic Lead Bromide Perovskites Nanoparticles: Synthesis, Stability and Photophysical Properties” directed by Dr. Julia Pérez Prieto and Dr. Raquel E. Galian.

Dra. Rebeca Martínez Haya, from the Polytechnic University of Valencia, Mixed University Institute of Chemical Technology (UPV – CSIC) with her thesis entitled “Photoredox catalysis for environmental and chemical applications. A mechanistically-based approach” and directed by Dr. Miguel A. Miranda Alonso and Dra. Mª Luisa Marín García.

The criteria for awarding the price have been: (i) The relevance of the topic of the doctoral thesis in the development and advancement of photochemistry. (ii) The quality and number of publications in scientific journals and patents. (iii) The participation in national and international congresses. (iv) Other aspects considered by the evaluation committee.

The jury wanted to highlight the very high quality of the theses presented, also expressing their congratulations to all the candidates of the award for the high quality of the works presented.

In Alcalá de Henares, on October 2, 2020.

Luis Manuel Frutos

President of GRUFO